Hanging and storing without banging and destroying

Drilling holes in walls and attaching difficult-to-remove double-sided tape to things is less than ideal when you’re renting with some kind of fine-print around the topic. But this doesn’t mean you have to miss out on some handy vertical storage opportunities. There are ways and means of sticking and hanging even when you can’t simply build a shelf or screw in a picture hook (two of my favourite ways to feel like I’m cleaning up my room – just move your junk from the floor to your newly built shelf… and tada! More space.) I found everything in this post at bargain havens like $2 shops (except for one extravagant IKEA purchase).

The suction-cup hook: These things are really only reliable on wet tiles but they make a great bathroom hanging arrangement. (I’ve got one in the kitchen too but had to sticky tape it onto the tiles as it kept falling off!)

The suction-cup hook: These things are really only reliable on wet tiles but they make a great bathroom hanging arrangement. (I’ve got one in the kitchen too but had to sticky tape it onto the tiles as it kept falling off!)

The tiny suction-cup hook: So far, so good on this one, sticking to the side of the fridge. It must have better suction technology than the larger one.

The tiny suction-cup hook: So far, so good on this one, sticking to the side of the fridge. It must have better suction technology than the larger one.

The over-the-door coat hanger: Those hooks that stick on with double-sided tape make a nasty mark when removed, so this is a much better arrangement on the back of a door – and there’s space for heaps of coats!

The over-the-door coat hanger: Those hooks that stick on with double-sided tape make a nasty mark when removed, so this is a much better arrangement on the back of a door – and there’s space for heaps of coats!

The over-the-wardrobe-door belt hanger: See what I did there? Same thing, different purpose (well nearly). Handy!

The over-the-wardrobe-door belt hanger: See what I did there? Same thing, different purpose (well nearly). Handy!

The over-the-bathroom-cabinet-door towel hanger: I love this little beauty that I picked up from Daiso for $2.80 (like everything else in the shop – cheap!) I think it’s designed for a kitchen cabinet but works for the bathroom too.

The over-the-bathroom-cabinet-door towel hanger: I love this little beauty that I picked up from Daiso for $2.80 (like everything else in the shop – cheap!) I think it’s designed for a kitchen cabinet but works for the bathroom too.

620131215_100054

The bedside hanging bag: Who needs a bedside table or a shelf when you’ve got everything you need right next to your pillow?

The genius IKEA scarf hanger: When I saw this in the shop I just had to buy it because I’d never seen anything similar anywhere else. It hangs in your wardrobe like a coat hanger but can also be arranged to fit on the inside of a wardrobe door. So clever!

The genius IKEA scarf hanger: When I saw this in the shop I just had to buy it because I’d never seen anything similar anywhere else. It hangs in your wardrobe like a coat hanger but can also be arranged to fit on the inside of a wardrobe door. So clever!

PS. You can check out those IKEA scarf hangers here.

Leave a Reply

