Origami earrings at Abbotsford Convent this Friday

More than half a year ago I made a plan to get started on some more origami earrings. I found some great stands to hang them on. I bought some great new paper to make the paper cranes out of. I made some. I varnished them. Then uni happened.

I had a pile of completed earrings and a pile of paper cranes waiting to be put on earrings – waiting patiently for my attention – when my aunty suggested I join her for a few market stalls. So over the past couple of weeks I’ve scrounged together a kind of display which should showcase my work nicely (I hope) and I have faked my way through the ancient art of Japanese calligraphy by crafting a few simple signs for the stall (haha). I also learnt a thing or two from a certain primary school teacher about the modern art of laminating (the machine doesn’t like me all that much but we got by).

SO, Melbourne people. Let this be your official invitation to The Supper Market at Abbotsford Convent this Friday evening. I should be there from about 6pm until 10pm selling my handmade origami earrings that look a little something like this:

Just a couple of examples of my origami earrings. More at: www.etsy.com/au/shop/mherbie

Just a couple of examples of my origami earrings. More at: www.etsy.com/au/shop/mherbie

…Featuring my incredibly professional calligraphy made with a time-consuming kind of love, straight from the brush of my $2.80 Daiso calligraphy set.

I actually painstakingly hand sketched the middle sign before colouring it in with ink - it was before I got my calligraphy set.

I actually painstakingly hand sketched and coloured in the middle sign – it was before the calligraphy set.

And if, for some unfathomable reason, you happen to find you are unable to join us for the amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience of visiting  Michelle at a market and giving her a lot of money in exchange for beautiful paper things, please do feel free to instead visit my Etsy page which has been updated since you last visited (remember when you last visited? Yes, that’s right. You should visit often. And tell all your friends.)

What's that you say? You want to visit my Etsy shop? Well you're in luck. Just click here.

What’s that you say? You want to visit my Etsy shop? Well you’re in luck. Just click here.

See you on Friday!

One response

  1. Pingback: One-armed swimming for MS | Cutting Corners

Leave a Reply

