Curry Rice

It was the first meal I had with my Japanese home-stay family when I visited on a year 10 school trip. A Japanese twist on an Indian export, made into a sweet and palatable curry worlds apart from the original. Curry Rice. What the Japanese did to curry, inspired by the Indians, is parallel to what they did to bread, inspired by the French. They took the original concept and totally made up their own version to suit their own  tastes. Oishii ne! Have you seen Bread Top? Sugary sweet, fluffy white buns masquerading  as lunch. Crazy (and delicious).

Curry Rice, or as the Japanese call it “Karri Laisuu” (insert peace-sign here), is a sweeter, milder version of traditional Indian curry that is pretty much a staple around the country. When I worked at Niseko, curry rice was a favourite on the ski slopes for its hearty warmth and easy-to-scoff deliciousness.

Over the last couple of weeks while I was hanging out at Mt Hotham (working a bit, drinking a lot, eating a bit) my friends re-introduced me to Curry Rice – the homemade version (well, pre-packaged to assemble at home). Yum.

I can’t believe I didn’t realise how easy this meal is to make at home (with the help of a handy packet of flavour). I reckon this one will become our new too-busy-to-cook-much-but-want-a-decent-hot-meal.

Can you believe you can eat it with cheese?! Oh yes, only in Japan. (Or at home made from the Asian supermarket. Well, you know what I mean).

My delicious Curry Rice we had the other night. The packet didn't say to add vegetables but I was inspired by the nature of the dish itself and totally just did whatever I felt like. Yeah!

My delicious Curry Rice we had the other night. The packet didn’t say to add vegetables but I was inspired by the nature of the dish itself and totally just did whatever I felt like. Yeah!

One response

  1. Doesn’t sound too Asian to me!!! but maybe I will try and buy it and try it when (as you say) I don’t feel much like cooking1!!!!!

Leave a Reply

