Exotic porridge

My friend Eliza is an absolute whizz with her food. She’s the one who recommended the coffee and fig cake recipe I made a few months ago, which was such an awesome and simple dessert. Lately she’s been experimenting with the exotic and delicious black rice. I bought some after she recommended it to me and Dan and I have had it quite a few times instead of boring old white rice in our dinners.

But black rice is not just for evening meals, oh no, Eliza has come up with an ingenious, delicious and healthy breakfast dish. Eliza’s Seeded Black Rice Porridge with Blueberry Sauce has been published on the blog of Forbidden Foods, a company that packages this delectable ingredient.  As soon as I saw the recipe online I knew I had to try it… but it was Sunday morning, I was still in my pajamas, and we didn’t have most of the ingredients in the house.

“No matter,” I thought, remembering Mum’s regular comments when we were young about substituting ingredients. Mum loves to go by my Great Aunty Edna’s motto, “a recipe’s only a guide, you know”, and even though I can’t remember Aunty Edna actually saying that herself, the memory of Mum quoting it to me is cemented in my head.

You’ll really understand this best if you check out Eliza’s recipe first, so go on and click here.

I’ve taken substituting to the extreme because I basically only had the base ingredients of black rice and milk in the house:

– Instead of sunflower and pumpkin seeds I’ve used chestnuts I had lying around the house waiting to be used. I scored, boiled and shelled them first.

– Instead of blueberry sauce I’ve used honey.

– Instead of kiwi fruit I’ve used orange, sliced thinly.

It’s not really the same dish at all anymore, but it totally worked!

My chestnut and orange black rice porridge with honey... inspired by something probably very different!

My chestnut and orange black rice porridge with honey… inspired by something probably very different!

Do you have any great stories of successful ingredient substitution? 

8 responses

  1. Firstly….interesting recipe Eliza….I have a memory of not liking ‘rice pudding’ as a child but I am no longer a child and my taste buds have changed, I am no longer a fussy brat….and this recipe makes me think beyond those memories…it looks great!
    Secondly….Michelle….very creative, clearly some of what I rambled on about in your childhood has had an effect:-) Indeed I believe Aunty Edna’s belief that ‘a recipe is only a guide’….if you don’t like something replace it with something you do like, if you don’t have something replace it with something you do have:-)….certainly beats having to get out of your PJs to go to the shop!! You just need to be careful to keep size, texture etc within cooey of the original so you don’t lose the plot totally!

    I’m now wondering what I have to create a similar dish…maybe I’ll end up with a fusion of your two recipes or maybe something different again….yum:-)

  2. Hi Kerry! My recipe is a little different to rice pudding -here is the Forbidden Foods version of a pudding http://forbiddenfoods.com.au/blogs/recipes/7833289-forbidden-black-rice-pudding.

    Mine is a porridge as you cook the rice in an excessive amount of water until the grains go soft and split a bit. Also, adding the milk is optional, you could eat just the rice alone with fruit etc (forgot to mention that in the recipe-oops!)

    Yay recipe fusion! Do it Kerry 🙂

  3. I think it very much varies country to country and depends on what kind of rice you use.

    Perhaps your next food post could be about the epic chilli jam recipe which I’d love to get my hands on 😉

  4. I love that my chesnuts were a part of this. Got home from a weekend at Whitlands and there weren’t many chesnuts left! Have you seen the spiky outer shell you have to get them out of?

  5. Pingback: Moussaka-ish pasta | Cutting Corners

Leave a Reply

