So many easy-to-make skirts

I wrote an instructional post a month or two ago showing how to sew the world’s easiest skirt. It’s my simple, fail-safe recipe for sewing success. I thought I should share with you some of the skirts I’ve made since I learnt this technique. Some are very, very basic but effective. With others, I have tried to be slightly more complex. It’s all a learning process but the best bit is I can actually wear (nearly) all the skirts I make.

skirt 1

I made this one with the absolute simplest technique possible. I didn’t even make a hem – I just folded the fabric in half and sewed the ends to the elastic. The fabric also came from an op shop for, like, $2. score.

skirt 2

This one required exactly the same technique as the blue one, except it’s only one layer and has a hem. I’ve made it a bit larger for wearing on my hips – its a great casual weekend skirt. The fabric came from a $3 per metre Spotlight sale years ago (before I could actually sew but was thinking about maybe learning one day). I recently resurrected it from a box and still like it enough to wear. It’s a versatile pattern because it can go with blacks, browns, reds, greens and oranges.

This one's very similar again but it's made with two layers - boring blue bottom layer teamed with pretty patterned but see-through top layer. Note: I sewed the layers together before gathering them onto the elastic.

This one’s very similar again but it’s made with two layers – boring blue bottom layer teamed with pretty patterned but see-through top layer. Note: I sewed the layers together before gathering them onto the elastic.

This was actually the first skirt I made at home (and I had a lot of help from Mum). We actually followed a pattern, which I haven't dared do since, but it's a pretty simple style very similar to the others here. The bottom section is attached to the top section in the same way as the other skirts attach to their elastic. This skirt's elastic is just inside the top section - kids'-trackie-pants-style.

This was actually the first skirt I made at home (and I had a lot of help from Mum). We actually followed a pattern, which I haven’t dared do since, but it’s a pretty simple style very similar to the others here. The bottom section is attached to the top section in the same way as the other skirts attach to their elastic. This skirt’s elastic is just inside the top section – kids’-trackie-pants-style.

I was pretty brave with this skirt and tried to make my own band out of a piece of fabric instead of using elastic. It was very nearly a disaster but I've just pulled it off! The back is held together by a zip and a clasp. I certainly learned a lot making this skirt about what I would do differently next time!

I was pretty brave with this skirt and tried to make my own band out of a piece of fabric instead of using elastic. It was very nearly a disaster but I’ve just pulled it off! (I tried to make it rounded instead of just sticking with something straight and simple). The back is held together by a zip and a clasp. I certainly learned a lot making this skirt about what I would do differently next time!

Last but not least - I got creative with this one, adding lace embellishments to give the skirt extra character. Notice instead of random ruffles I have attached the skirt to its elastic via a structured pleat system, which wasn't even that hard! I realised too late that going for this kind of tighter fit meant the elastic was pointless because it wouldn't stretch anyway. I added a zip in the end and vowed to master making my own bands!

Last but not least – I got creative with this one, adding lace embellishments to give the skirt extra character. Notice instead of random ruffles I have attached the skirt to its elastic via a structured pleat system, which wasn’t even that hard to do! I realised too late that going for this kind of tighter fit meant the elastic was pointless because it wouldn’t stretch anyway. I added a zip in the end and vowed to master making my own bands!

What do you think?

6 responses

    • Like what? I could make a dress, but then I’d be stuck with the same top all the time… skirts are everything I could need! (Also, I have pattern-fear. They’re so hard to understand.)

  1. Very impressive…you have definitely got quite a ‘skirt wardrobe’ happening…I’m with Alice…be brave try something else now; nothing like a new challenge:-)

  2. Congratulations for trying – they have turned out really well haven’t they!!!
    When are you going to start on tops????? I think it’s time!!!!

Leave a Reply

