An easy tasty treat

I’m currently enjoying the cold winter of England and France but have been dreaming of hot summer nights and barbeques in Australia. When we get home I’ll be sure to chuck on my thongs (uh, I mean flip flops) and pull together a good barbie with some friends. If you ask me, a good post-beach outdoor dinner isn’t complete without some tasty entrée snacks and I can never say no to a homemade dip. They’re just SO easy to make if you have five minutes to dedicate towards producing something that is far superior to anything you could buy in the shops – and it works out far cheaper too.

The recipe I want to share with you is a pretty stock-standard staple and I probably pulled it from a website somewhere a long time ago. Yes that’s right, it’s hommus dip. Yum yum.

CCblog 02-29

The hommus I’ve been eating lately is the easiest thing in the world as long as you have a food processor and are weird enough like me to have tahini as a permanent pantry fixture. Just bang it all in and press go. Blend, adjust to taste, serve. Easy.

The basic ingredients are (roughly):

–          1 can of chickpeas

–          ¼ cup tahini (I usually just dip the spoon in and grab a couple of big globs)

–          2 tbsp olive oil

–          2-3 tbsp of lemon juice (just juice a whole one!)

–          2 cloves of garlic

Then at the end I like to add some special touches. Salt and pepper are essential of course but a friend recently suggested cumin and ground coriander. These are great additions! Last time I made it I sprinkled sumac on top and considered mixing in thyme. I didn’t end up doing that but maybe I will next time. The great thing about recipes like this one is you can chop and change flavours depending on your mood each time you make them.

I think a bowl of homemade hommus is best served with a pile of carrot sticks. But I guess biscuits would also do.

CCblog 02-32

3 responses

  1. We have been enjoying all sorts of dips as post beach/ pre dinner snax…. Should make this one though as we have all the goodies to make it… Save a trip to the supermarket:-)

  2. We presently make that dip and its fantastic, so much better than the supermarket one. We are like you we always have tahini and chickpeas in the pantry.

  3. Pingback: Black bean chocolate fudge and brownies | Cutting Corners

Leave a Reply

